One of Long Melford's finest houses, an exceptional Grade II* listed property with spacious accommodation, stunning period features, a former coach house & about 1.4 acres within easy walking distance of excellent amenities.
Brook House is an important Grade II* listed property and amongst the finest houses in the sought after village of Long Melford. The earliest record of the building is 1495 when it was originally known as The White Hart, but simply referred to as The Hart. It is likely the inn closed around 1757 when it became a private residence owned by the Plamplin family. In 1843 it was sold for £600 to John Churchyard who owned a horse hair factory and by this time it had been renamed Brook House taking its name from Chad Brook which borders the end of the garden. In 1860 it was sold for £975 to Sir William Parker who lived in the house before taking residence in Melford Hall a few years later.
The front exterior of the house has exposed joists, shaped brackets, brick nogging, 3-light sash windows, carved barge boards and jettied upper storeys. There is a fine large gabled porch which provides a fitting entrance into the remarkable octagonal reception hall. The porch bears the date 1610 and hence was a later addition, whilst further progression is evident to the rear of the house, as well as internally, displaying a significant Georgian influence.
The beautiful reception hall with intricately carved ceiling timbers gives access to the principal reception rooms as well as to the turning staircase and also a delightful curving inner hall. A formal double reception room incorporates the drawing
room with an open fire and a wide opening into the music room. This whole area displays elegant Georgian features including ornate coving and large sash windows with detailed architraves. The spacious dining room adjoins the kitchen with
significant ceiling timbers including a dragon beam, as well as a fireplace with a woodburner. There is a cosy sitting room which opens onto the garden and, again, has a fireplace. In addition there is a snug/study and a garden room. The 32’1
kitchen/breakfast room is exceptional; the kitchen area has bespoke ‘Plain English’ units including a central island and dresser unit with granite and marble work surfaces, together with brick flooring and a four oven gas fired Aga set in a fireplace recess with an outstanding carved bressumer above. The breakfast/family area opens onto the garden and adjoins the snug and utility room.
On the first floor, an elegant landing with a large arched window gives access to the 5 double bedrooms, 3 of which have ensuites and there is also a family shower room. The stunning master bedroom suite has an attractively fitted bath/shower room as well as a dressing room which
previously provided a sixth bedroom.
The partly walled grounds amount to about 1.4 acres and form a further important feature. Vehicular access is to the rear of the house onto a gravelled drive and parking area leading to The Coach House/former stables which requires renovation; this building amounts to about 1325 sq ft and is of brick and slate construction with excellent potential either as an annexe or garaging/studio etc (stp). A garage adjoins. There is an expanse of lawn bordered and interspersed by flower and shrub beds with typical English country plants including roses, lavender, clematis, white jasmine, box hedging, apple, plum and pear trees as well as a fruit cage, vegetable bed and sunken Victorian greenhouse. The garden
runs down to the Chad Brook which forms a charming feature and there is also a pond.